Constantia takes its name from the farm that was granted to Simon van der Stel in 1685. Governor van der Stel named the property after Constanza, the young daughter of a friend.
Today the surrounding area including Bergvliet, Meadowridge, Tokai and Diep River is known as Constantiaberg. The area is one of Cape Town’s established leafy Southern Suburbs, and boasts a number of well known and historic wine estates.
The area borders on Bishopscourt where many embassies are located.